top of page

About the Clash

The Harris Clash was started in 1992 by Bob Harris. The race was held at Webster City, Boone, and Harlan, IA. In 1996 the race was moved to Knoxville. This allowed the racers to compete at the famed 1/2 mile on a level playing field, as the Clash was the only modified race held there every year. The Harris Clash quickly became an IMCA must-win event for all modified competitors.  

In 2001 Bob wanted to use this race as a challenge to other racing chassis manufacturers and created the Manufacturer's Cup in which not only is the winning driver of the race given national recognition, but unlike other major events, the car manufacturer is also given major exposure.

The late Bill Davis, Ethan Dotson, Richie Gustin, Greg Metz, Kelly Shryock & Kyle Strickler are the only two-time winners of the Harris Clash in the Modified division. In 2006 a Sport Mod class was added and has been a part of the event ever since. 

2018 featured a new venue as the race moved to Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley, Minnesota. This was the first opportunity for IMCA competitors to turn laps at the prestigious track.

In 2019 we introduced the Harris Clash Race of Champions, featuring past Harris Clash winners in an invite only Modified showdown.

2022 takes us back to Deer Creek Speedway for the 5th consecutive year. We are expecting another fantastic event with large car counts & a full grandstand.

bottom of page